bestaicharacterchat.com
Versus · fields: official pages only · run 2026.10

Character.AI vs DreamGen: Verified Prices and Account Fields

Character.AI and DreamGen compared only on fields their official pages state: plan prices, sign-up, context windows, free tier and age statements. No winner is declared.

published 2026-10-16 author bestaicharacterchat.com Editorial team

AI character chat means a text conversation with a defined character, such as a persona card a user writes or a community publishes. This comparison is written for readers who are at least 18 years old, and it must not be used for any content that involves minors. Platform prices and privacy terms change often, so each platform’s official current policy is the document that governs. The figures below were captured on 16 October 2026.

The short answer

No winner is declared. Character.AI’s official subscribe page shows a free tier, a monthly price and an annual price. DreamGen’s pricing page shows three monthly plans and a context window for each. The two platforms publish different fields, so their verified values cannot yet be placed on one scale.

Field by field

Field Character.AI DreamGen
Free access Free column: ads Full, feature limits Limited, slow mode Yes No free plan appears on the pricing page
Monthly price $9.99 per month on the monthly view of the subscribe page Starter $7.83 per month; $6.26 with a 20% first-month offer on the pricing page
Annual price $94.99 per year, with $119.88 struck through Not listed on the captured page
Sign-up Not yet verified A Create Account link on the pricing page
Context window Not yet verified 5,000 tokens (Starter), 15,000 (Advanced), 30,000 (Pro)
Age statement The official privacy page says the services are not designed for minors under 13 Not yet verified
Chat export Privacy page: a copy of certain information in a portable or machine-readable format, on request; steps not opened Not yet verified
Account deletion Privacy page: delete the account from the account profile page; steps not opened Not yet verified

Price: what the numbers do and do not show

Character.AI’s annual plan works out to about $7.92 per month, which is $94.99 divided by 12. The monthly view shows $9.99. The official page says the annual plan saves 21%. DreamGen’s Starter plan is listed at $7.83 per month. These figures are not like for like. The annual plan is billed once a year, and DreamGen’s three plans are billed monthly. A lower list price therefore does not prove better value.

A third-party roundup lists DreamGen at $8 per month. This site does not use that figure, because the official pricing page shows $7.83.

Account and data controls

Character.AI’s subscribe page states that the subscription auto-renews and can be cancelled in settings at any time. Its privacy policy says information may be used for model training and development. The same policy lists a portable copy of personal information, a request to delete certain information, and an opt-out of sales and targeted advertising as rights. In the text we read, we did not find a training opt-out, so this site does not state that one exists.

DreamGen’s pricing page carries a Create Account link. Its FAQ answers could not be read in the browser, because a script was blocked. This comparison therefore does not state DreamGen’s answer on whether its service can be used for free, and it does not state its cancellation or refund terms.

Who each side fits

Readers who check renewal terms first will find Character.AI’s on its official subscribe page. Readers who compare context window sizes across plans will find them on DreamGen’s pricing page. Neither page answers the other’s question, so a complete comparison needs both.

Evidence and method

The Character.AI subscribe page was read in a browser, and its monthly switch was toggled to read the monthly price. No purchase was made. The Character.AI privacy page was read in the same browser session. The DreamGen pricing page was captured as text. All three were captured on 16 October 2026. Limits: pages change without notice, the DreamGen FAQ answers could not be read, no account was created on either platform, and the Character.AI sign-up flow and context window were not captured. Third-party reports are used only to flag conflicts. The field rules set out the full method.

Related reading: the PolyBuzz and DreamGen comparison, the Character.AI and PolyBuzz comparison, and the home page shortlist.

FAQ

Which is cheaper, Character.AI or DreamGen?

On the list prices captured on 16 October 2026, DreamGen's Starter plan at $7.83 per month sits below Character.AI's $9.99 monthly price. The two official price pages state different fields, so list price alone does not show better value.

Does either platform state an age limit?

Character.AI's official privacy page says its services are not designed for minors under 13, and its terms prohibit use by anyone under 13, or under 16 in the EEA and UK. Two third-party sources disagree with each other on this point. DreamGen's age statement was not captured. The official current policy governs.

Can I delete my account on either platform?

Neither account-deletion route was verified in this edition. Character.AI's privacy page says you may delete your account through your account profile page, and it describes a request to delete certain personal information. The steps were not opened. Check each platform's settings and policy before you sign up.

↑